Products - Instructions for Pessary Treatment

Urethra Pessary

Application: The urethra pessary consists of flexible silicone with a steel spring filling which keeps the form. It is elastic and can be easily changed by the patient herself. The circumference of the ring is relatively thin. Preferably patients with incontinence are treated with the urethra pessary. An intact pelvic floor (also if reduced) is required. The pessary can also prevent the development of a stress incontinence by its suburethral supporting effect. The thickening of the pessary is supposed to support the transition between bladder and urethra and thus to avoid an opening of the upper urethra under stress situations like coughing or movements (picture). A shifting can also avoid seeping of urine into the urethra, which may have a positive effect on urge.or a mixture of stress and urge incontinence.

Sizes: The diameters of the pessaries range from a minimum of 45 to a maximum of 100 mm. The pessary which achieves the best continence when coughing in the standing position and which also allows for micturition should be chosen. Often one will have to change to a larger pessary after 1 or 2 months, due to a relaxation of the vaginal tissue. If the thickening is not sufficient, the size can be individually fit by gluing additional caps. When inserting the pessary, the ring will be pushed through the vaginal vault upwards so that the thickening lifts the transition between bladder and urethra (picture).

Use: The physician adaptsjhe pessary on the first examination with a filled bladder on the examination chair.. Subsequently, the patient is asked to cough, press and to move and the loss of urine is registered. With an ideal position of the pessary, also a severe stress incontinence is immediately redressed. This may motivate the patient and the treatment team to continue. If the incontinence is redressed, there is no doubt about the diagnosis of stress incontinence. For the insertion the pessary is covered with estrogen cream. After the test, the position of the pessary should be checked again. The pessary can be changed easily by the patient herself, i.e. she has to remove it in the evening and to insert it in the morning. The coating with estrogen cream facilitates the insertion and improves the local blood circulation as well as the formation of epithelium and connective tissue. Exclusively creams containing estriol should be used (shorter adhesion to the receptor). Since one needs a relatively small amount of cream (small surface) for the gliding effect, we recommend to use a higher dispensed estriol containing 1 mg estriol / 1 g cream. Urethra pessaries are usually worn during daytime, sometimes only under extreme stress (e.g. sport). The change of the pessary may be done while standing, whereby the patient may put one

foot on a stool or the edge of a bed, in a position comparable to the insertion of a tampon; if this is too difficult, it may be sufficient to insert the pessary while spreading the legs, if necessary while leaning against a wall or while lying. The patient should be trained how to insert the pessary (e.g. first to press the ring part and then push it to the upper part of the vagina whereby the thickening lies under the symphysis) and how to remove it (surrounding of the ring with her forefinger, edging and loosening of the pessary). The fixation of a thread on both sides of the thickening, which can be adapted individually (longer for obese patients) may facilitate the handling and avoid a dislocation of the thickening under the bladder. However, older patients may prefer a change by the physician or a nurse at 1-4 week intervals. Under these conditions, one should insert an estriol cream or ovulum once a week. Also if surgery is planned in the long term, the pessary, in combination with local estrogens, can be used as a preparation before the operation".

viomed

Side Effects/Complications: The therapy with this pessary is meant - in combination with additional measures (physiotherapy, estrogens) - to cure or at least to reduce the patient's problems of incontinence. The daily change bv the patient or the change by the physician and/or nursing staff with local estrogen therapy avoids complications like infections, bleedings or even ulcers. Stress incontinence does not need any therapy during the night anyway. If any problems with incontinence remain despite having changed the sizes and despite training, the diagnosis and choice of the pessary have to be reconsidered. It is possible that the thickening cannot get upwards because of insufficient levator muscles or an obstructed vaginal wall. Under these conditions, one has to change to a cube pessary and local estriol therapy - at least temporarily. Contraindications for estriol creams should be considered (e.g. pregnancy, lactation period, estrogen-dependent tumors). If the patient is not able to change the pessary herself, it may be advisable to integrate a nurse or a member of the family into the procedures.

Advice: The product should only be used by one patient and can be stored by room temperature. The pessary may be cleaned under warm running water without using any disinfectant.

Produkte - Anleitungen zur Pessarbehandlung

Urethrapessar

Anwendungsbereich: Das Urethrapessar besteht aus flexiblem gewebefreundlichem Silikon und einer Federkerneinlage, die das Pessar formbeständig macht. Mit dem Urethrapessar werden Patientinnen mit Stressinkontinenz und/oder Senkung behandelt, die möglichst keine vorangehende vaginale Operation des Beckenbodens mit Raffung der Scheide hatten. Bei den Trägerinnen wird ein noch tragfähiger Beckenboden vorausgesetzt. Die Kalotte soll den Übergang zwischen Blase und Harnröhre nach oben vorne verlagern und so unter Belastungssituationen wie Husten oder Bewegung ein Eröffnen der oberen Harnröhre verhindern (Bild). Die Verlagerung kann auch das Eindringen von Urin in die Harnröhre verhindern, was den Effekt auf eine Urgeinkontinenz oder eine Mischform von Stress- und Urgeinkontinenz begünstigt.

Größen: Die Pessare werden nach dem Umfang des Ringdurchmessers in Größen von minimal 45 bis maximal 100 mm Durchmesser angeboten. Es sollte das Pessar eingelegt werden, das beim Husten im Stehen die beste Kontinenz erzielt und doch problemlos eine Miktion zulässt. Häufig muss nach ein bis zwei Monaten auf ein größeres Pessar übergegangen werden, da der Kontinenzeffekt wegen einer Auflockerung des Gewebes nicht mehr gewährleistet ist. Falls die Unterpolsterung der Kalotte des Urethrapessars nicht ausreicht, können die Kalotten durch Aufkleben von Kappen individuell angepasst werden. Der Ring wird beim Anpassen durch das hintere Scheidengewölbe geführt, so dass die Kalotte durch Kippen nach oben/vom den Übergang zwischen Blase und Harnröhre anhebt (Bild).

Gebrauch: Im allgemeinen sollte der Arzt beim ersten Versuch das Pessar mit voller Blase auf dem Untersuchungsstuhl einlegen. Eine Beschichtung mit Östrogencreme erleichtert das Einführen. Dabei sollten nur östriolhaltige Cremes (kurze Haftung am Rezeptor) verwandt werden. Da zum Erzielen der Gleitfähigkeit wenig Creme (kleine Oberfläche) nötig ist, empfehlen wir die Verwendung einer höher dosierten östriolhaltigen Creme mit 1mg Östriol/1g Creme. Das Östriol sorgt für eine bessere Durchblutung des Gewebes sowie Aufbau von Flora, Epithel und Gewebe. Dann lässt man die Patientin aufstehen und husten und registriert den Urinverlust. Bei idealem Sitz ist auch eine schwere Stressinkontinenz sofort behoben. Dies kann Patientin und Behandlungsteam zur Fortsetzung der Pessartherapie motivieren. Bei Beheben der Inkontinenz bleibt auch kein Zweifel an der Diagnose der Stressinkontinenz. Nach dem Test sollte der Sitz von Pessar und Kalotte noch einmal vom Arzt kontrolliert werden. Urethrapessare werden meist tagsüber getragen, gelegentlich auch nur bei Belastungen (z.B. Sport). Es wird empfohlen,

dass die Patientin das Pessar selbst abends entfernt und morgens wieder einführt. Dabei ist die Beschichtung mit Östriolcreme sinnvoll. Das Wechseln des Pessars erfolgt durch die Patientin am besten im Stehen, wobei ein Bein auf einem Schemel aufgestellt werden kann, ist das nicht möglich, durch leichtes Spreizen der Beine im Stehen etwa an einer Wand, ggf. auch im Liegen. Beim Einlegen sollte die Patientin darauf achten, dass die Kalotte hinter der Symphyse unter der oberen Harnröhre liegt, bei der Entfernung schiebt sie die Kalotte zur Seite und fasst mit dem Zeigefinger den Ringteil. Die Fixierung eines zusätzlichen Ziehfadens beiderseits der Kalotte, der bei adipösen Patientinnen länger sein muss, erleichtert die Handhabung, stabilisiert die Kalotte im Bereich des Blasenhalses und verhindert die Dislokation.

viomed

Nebenwirkungen/ Komplikationen: Die Pessartherapie hat das Ziel, auch in Kombination mit weiteren Maßnahmen die Beschwerden der Patientin zu heilen, ggf. um selbst nach einiger Zeit auf das Pessar verzichten zu können. Auch wenn langfristig eine Operation geplant sein sollte, kann das Urethrapessar als "Versuchspessar" und Diagnose für oder gegen eine operative Therapie angesehen werden. Das tägliche Wechseln durch die Patientin verhindert Komplikationen wie Infektionen, Blutungen oder gar Druckgeschwüre. Die Stressinkontinenz bedarf während der Nachtruhe ohnehin keiner Therapie. Bleiben trotz wechselnder Größen und Anleitung doch noch Beschwerden von Inkontinenz bestehen, muss über die Diagnose und die Wahl des Pessars neu nachgedacht werden. Dabei kann es sein, dass die Kalotte wegen unzureichender Levatormuskulatur oder narbiger Scheidenwand nicht hochsteigen kann, so dass zur Narbenauflockerung - zumindest vorübergehend - auf ein Würfelpessar und lokale Östrioltherapie übergegangen werden muss Kontraindikationen für Östriolcremes sollten beachtet werden (z B. Schwangerschaft, Stillzeit, östrogenabhängige Tumore). Bei pflegebedürftigen Patientinnen kann es ratsam sein, eine Pflegekraft oder ein Familienmitglied in die Handhabung zu integrieren.

Hinweis: Das Produkt sollte jeweils nur von einer Patientin verwandt werden. Das Pessar kann bis zum Gebrauch bei Zimmertemperatur gelagert werden. Das Säubern des Pessars sollte allein unter fließendem lauwarmen Wasser ohne Verwendung von Desinfektionsmittel erfolgen.